Recently I have finished reading two book that have one thing in common. Perspective. As a young entrepreneur, reading is one activity that is such a great way to expand your knowledge base. I know this is not the first time you will have heard that, but I want to tell you first hand that taking the time to read a physical book everyday is beneficial on so many levels. But take it from me, I have learned so much from just reading books.

The first book is Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki. Now, before you click off this right now give me a minute to explain myself. I read this book on my recent holiday in Cambodia with my girlfriend because I had heard about from several people and thought I would give it a shot. Now, I don’t agree with everything Kiyosaki says and I haven’t bought his board game or paid for anything else of his, but the book is vary good at changing your perspective on money – something I and I’m sure a lot of young entrepreneurs have a shortage of.

original

Despite the get rich quick scams out there, this book has a lot of good content that I didn’t gain in my University studies because it’s geared towards personal finance, not corporate. The biggest perspective changing idea I gained from this book was the idea that you should put your income into buying assets before anything else and also that starting your own business is the key to this.

Now I am like you and don’t have a spare 10k to deposit for a house and rent it out to cover the mortgage. But nowadays, there are so many alternative ways to buy assets (stocks, property etc.) with as much or as little as you have. The key, in my opinion, is gaining the new perspective and then using it on as small or as large a scale as you can manage. I won’t go into details of this now, but please check out the The Ways I Invest post for more details about how you can begin investing small amounts.

One word of warning. Mr Kiyosaki book is very American in it’s style (only the rich know this, you don’t know this and that’s why your poor etc.) so it’s important to take his perspective as the only one of many that are out there. But I do highly recommend this book to any young entrepreneur.

The second book is The Martian by Andy Weir. Now, you may find this a bit odd why a fiction book is on a young entrepreneur blog, but there are great perspective changing knowledge to be learned from fiction.

the-martian-by-andy-weir-2

Now if your not a big reader that’s okay because recently Matt Damon starred in the movie adaptation of The Martian [DVD] [2015]. Now I am not going to ruin the story and that’s not what this post is about. But what this book taught me was to have the perspective of opportunities not problems. 

As a young entrepreneur this should be written down everywhere and ingrained in your memory as soon as possible. To me, this is the thing that keeps the ideas flowing at all times. Even if they are terrible and never become something tangible (I recently had the idea for a rent a vacuum app), the act of looking for opportunities and not problems is an essential perspective for any entrepreneur. If you take away anything from this post that should be it.

Thanks for taking the time out of your day to read my first blog post. If you liked it, or even if you didn’t but want to know more about me, you can follow me on Twitter.


One thought on “Perspective is everything

Leave a Reply

